Manchester United a ‘perfect fit’ – Schweinsteiger

image

The World Cup winning midfielder says a move to Old Trafford was exactly what he needed but admits he owes the Bayern Munich fans a proper goodbye Manchester United midfielder Bastian Schweinsteiger has described the Old Trafford club as a “perfect fit” following his move from Bayern Munich.

The Germany midfielder has experienced a mixed start to his Old Trafford career, starting in the disappointing 2-1 Champions League defeat to PSV on Tuesday, but also featuring in the Premier League win over Liverpool on Saturday.Schweinsteiger, a legend at the Munich club, says he moved to Manchester ahead of the 2015/16 season, seeking a new challenge and a new footballing culture. “I felt within myself that I needed to change what I was doing,” the 31-year-old told Die Zeit.

  “I needed a new stimuli.“So the interest from Manchester United was a perfect fit.”    Born in Bavaria, Schweinsteiger holdsa personal affinity with Bayern, and says he still owes the fans a proper farewell.“I would like to say goodbye properly,” the Germany midfielder continued.“There was the season’s opening ceremony at the stadium, but I didn’t want to stand there in the Bayern jersey, waving to the fans, then a few hours later say: ‘That was nice, but I’m off to England.’“Because I have a good relationship with the Bayern fans, that’s why I left it the way I did.

” However, Schweinsteiger also left to door open to a possible return to Bavaria, whether as a player, coach or fan.”But perhaps a day will come when I’ll return to the stadium,” he concluded.

Leave a Reply

