David Moyes says he is ready to revive his managerial career after his ill-fated tenure at Manchester United.

In his first broadcast interview
since losing his job at Old
Trafford in April, the former
Everton boss, 51, told the BBC: “I
am ready to return.
“I have enjoyed the time off but I
have got to wait on the right job
and make sure it’s one that I
want.”
Moyes was sacked after less
than 10 months in charge of
United, following 11 successful
years at Goodison Park.
The Scot believes he can repair
his reputation and prove his
critics wrong.
“I’m really ambitious,” he said. “I
would never have left Everton
for anybody but an ambitious
football club. And I thought
Manchester United would have
given me that opportunity.
“It didn’t materialise that way, so
I am hoping that the next club I
join gives me the chance to build
a team, because I think that is
what I am good at.
A spectator dressed as
the Grim Reaper
taunted Moyes in his
last game in charge of
Manchester United
“I also think that I am good at
spotting and identifying young
players, not only young players,
but players.
“Over the years, we have
brought in a lot of players at
Everton and I think that they
worked well. So if the
opportunity came, then
hopefully I will be able to make it
work.”
Moyes won widespread acclaim
for consistently guiding Everton
into the upper reaches of the
Premier League on a limited
budget, and led them to the
qualifying stages of the
Champions League in 2005.
But he presided over United’s
worst Premier League season
having been chosen by Sir Alex
Ferguson to succeed him after a
trophy-laden reign.
He says he would prefer to
return to English football but is
open to working abroad.
“I’ve had several people contact
me about jobs,” he added. “None
of them have turned round and
said ‘here is a job it’s yours’.
“But people have asked me if I
have had any interest in jobs.
The clubs that have come calling,
I just felt that they weren’t
right.”
Man Utd under Moyes
Defeated in Champions
League quarter-final by
Bayern Munich
Beaten in League Cup semi-
final by Sunderland
Lost at home to Swansea in
the third round of the FA Cup
Five points from a possible
24 against Liverpool,
Chelsea, Manchester City and
Arsenal
Defeat against Everton
confirmed club would miss
out on Champions League for
first time since 1995-96
Moyes said he will “know when
the right club comes along”.
He added: “I needed a little bit of
time just to make sure that I am
ready, and I am feeling good to
go back.”
Moyes denied he would only
entertain offers from clubs
involved in European
competition.
But he said he had enjoyed his
Champions League experience
with United, who reached the
last eight under him before
exiting to Bayern Munich.
“Getting to the quarter-final in
the Champions League wasn’t a
bad feat,” he said.
“I really enjoyed it – embraced it,
actually loved the Champions
League nights, and we did well.
Moyes – from ‘Chosen
One’ to sacked
“We came up against Bayern
Munich and we were a little bit
unfortunate not to get ourselves
through.”
Moyes has spent the summer
relaxing, attending coaching
conferences, and travelling, and
says he has now recovered from
the bruising experience he
endured at Old Trafford.
“It’s the first time I’ve had off in
about 30 years,” said Moyes.
“I’ve been involved in football
since I was a young boy. I’ve
enjoyed doing things you don’t
get the opportunity to do when
you’re in the job.
“When you’re in the job, you’re
full on all the time. I’ve played
some great golf courses,
enjoyed a bit of horse racing,
spent a bit of time with the
family so it’s been good.”
Moyes found out about his
dismissal by United from the
media after a series of poor
results.
He remains bound by a
confidentiality agreement in his
severance deal, but the manner
of his departure still hurts.
Moyes (right) was
sacked after a meeting
with executive vice-
chairman Ed
Woodward
“I got the job and I expected it
to be a six-year plan,” he said. “I
signed a six-year contract…
disappointed it didn’t go to plan.
I expected to be given an
opportunity to fulfil that and it
wasn’t what was expected.
“It was really difficult when I lost
the job initially because I didn’t
really see it coming, even though
I had been losing games.
“I knew that it could be difficult
but I joined a club that I felt
stood behind their managers,
made sure they supported them
in difficult times. And, you know,
Sir Alex had difficult times when
he first took over.
“And I do understand that the
landscape has changed a little
bit in football, but I think that
United always stood for the
right things and I expected them
to do what was right with me.”
United replaced Moyes with
Louis van Gaal, who has won
titles with Ajax, Barcelona,
Bayern Munich and AZ Alkmaar
and coached Netherlands at this
year’s World Cup in Brazil.
The 63-year-old Dutchman has
presided over a difficult start to
the season, losing 4-0 to MK
Dons in the Capital One Cup and
5-3 to newly-promoted Leicester
City in the Premier League.
When asked what the reaction
would have been had he been in
charge of such losses, Moyes
said: “I daren’t imagine what
would have been said about it.
“But Louis van Gaal has got a
difficult job as well, just like I did
when I took over at the job, and
he needs to be given that
opportunity to get his mark on
the team, turn it around.
“He is a very experienced
manager and he should be given
that chance to do so.”
You can watch the extended
interview with David Moyes on
BBC One’s Football Focus from
12:10 BST on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

