Nigerians never trusted me says Keshi

Super Eagles
coach,
Stephen Keshi
has
sensationally
told
supersport.com that he has
never enjoyed the support of
Nigerians from the first day he
took the regins of the national
team in 2011.
Keshi said “only a handful of
Nigerians” did not question his
professional competence after he
was appointed head coach and
that the team’s 2013 Africa Cup
of Nations (Afcon) success in
South Africa came to many as a
shock.
“If I am to be honest, most
Nigerians never believed in me or
this team from day one. It was
only a handful of them
(Nigerians) that believed.
“When we won the Nations Cup,
they celebrated but they never
really believed we could do it,” an
angry Keshi said.
Nigeria’s hopes of qualifying for
the 2015 Afcon in Morocco hang
by a thread after the Super Eagles
picked up a solitary point from a
possible nine.
The underwhelming results have
put Keshi’s position in jeopardy
but the “Big Boss’ says he’s not
worried about losing his job.
“Yes, I am aware a lot of
Nigerians are calling for my head.
The truth is, they can’t really call
for my head because they did not
give me my head.
“God gave me my head so they
can only call for my job.
“I always give my best as coach
of this team and I will not stop
doing that just because some
people are criticising me.
“It’s a pity that when the team
does not perform well, the fans
say it’s the fault of the coach.
“However, when the team
performs well, they will say it’s
the players who did all the work.
“It’s a very unfortunate thing but
I will continue to give my best
and God willing, we will beat
Sudan on Wednesday,” he said.
A loss for Nigeria on Wednesday
will virtually rule the African
champions out of the race to
qualify for the 2015 Afcon in
Morocco

Leave a Reply

